2 Fit Mommy Approved Recipes that Pack a Nutritional Punch

11 Jan

Busy schedules mean easy meals to avoid hitting the candy dish at work or grabbing sugar/processed packed “energy” bars.  I wanted to offer up some recipes that pack a serious nutritional punch, are tasty, can be made in advance and are great breakfast options.  I have to pack all of my breakfast/lunch/snacks into a bag @ 5:30(am) so this takes a little advance planning to grab and go, but it is worth it.

Coconut Packed Shake – I blend and freeze this the night before and then take it out of the freezer in the morning.  I drink it as it thaws over the course of the morning.  It’s super filling and tastes good.  No sugar added and the 1/2 frozen barely ripe banana kills the taste of the spinach and kale for those of you who are not fans of “green” drinks. 
– 4 ounces water
– 8 ounces unsweetned coconut milk
– 2 tsp coconut butter (I love Artisana brand)
– 2 T shredded coconut
– 1 tsp chia seeds
– 1 tsp flax seeds
– 1/2 frozen banana – just barely ripe (I peel a few of them and freeze them in a ziploc bag)
– 1 tsp Maca Root Powder – I really like MacaForce
– 2 tsp Spirulina
– 1 tsp Chlorella
– 2 tsp fresh ground almond butter.  I like grounding it myself at Whole Foods, if the machine is down (which happens sometimes) grab Artisana brand – there is nothing added and it is tasty
– 2 cups spinach
– 1 cup kale

Frittatta sans the Potatoes
– sliced yellow squash
– sliced zucchini
– finely chopped kale
– loose baby spinach
– shallots
– bacon fat (gives this a smokey taste, but you can use coconut oil or ghee)
– fresh salsa
– tumeric
– paprika
– cayenne
– pinch of celtic salt
– fresh ground pepper to taste
– garlic
– eggs (whites)

I put ghee, bacon fat or coconut oil to soften the shallots and garlic.  They I lay down pieces of squash and zucchini so they cover the entire pan and then just add kale and spinach.  I put a top on and let everything cook a bit (about 5 minutes or so) – then I add the salsa and egg whites (I have sensitivities to egg yolks, but you could add one yolk and a few whites for the added nutrition) and seasoning and then I cover and let it cook on medium low heat until it is relatively firm.  I use a pizza slicer to cut into 4 sections and then I turn it over to firm up the other side.

I pair this with mixed greens or kale salad and raw vegetables and it is really yummy.  Each one is about 2 servings, make two and you have lunch for most of the week.

I

Leave a Reply

twosaucysisters

There's no such thing as unhealthy food, just food made unhealthy!

THE {TINY} TIMES

I'm a child. And a blogger.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

Listful Thinking

Listless: Lacking zest or vivacity

theheartyherbivore.wordpress.com/

A Vegetarian Foodie's Guide to Life

onthecocoatrail.wordpress.com/

"And then the day came when the risk to remain tight in a bud was greater than the risk it took to bloom". Anais Nin

Pumps & Iron

A healthy lifestyle blog.

Nonsense to Mom's Sense (of Humor)

How life as a stand-up comic prepared me for motherhood

The Musings of a Jewish Stay-At-Home Father

Documenting the Wacky Antics of the Ridiculous Fruits of my Loins

Studio Mothers: Life & Art

Helping mothers meet their creative goals

Hey from Japan- or wherever the moving van arrives- Emily Cannell

Moving a Family When Everyone is Held Tightly in the Grips of Puberty or Menopause

Broadside

Smart and surprising

amaryllis log

create something

Hilary Makes

A doorway into my world. Sometimes an adventure.

Fit & Fueled for Life

Group Fitness, Personal Training & Nutrition with Amy Guzman

