Two weeks behind me…ready to start moving

4 Sep

Last Friday marked week 2 since my 3-level anterior laminectomy fusion.  It also marked the end of my first week back to my daytime job, but thankfully from home.  Sitting all day is challenging without cervical spine surgery, but I have had to get up and either lay down or move around to find a comfortable position and also allow my neck a break from being in front of a computer all day. 

This also marks the first week that I have been able to move to mushy foods!  Yep, lots of overly steamed broccoli, mushy scrambled eggs and yogurt.  I still gag on pills, bread, and most other foods and I am sticking to at least two protein shakes daily and drinking lots of water, but really making sure that I don’t overdo it.

My body is still healing from the after effects of surgery.  The medication and dehydration has done little to help my digestive tract and the stress/trauma of the surgery has some of my hair falling out.  Equally challenging is the overall lack of sleep I am getting because it is challenging to find a comfortable position   I keep hearing that all of this gets better by week 4, so I have 2 more weeks to go.

I am going to start making strides…literally!  I am going to try and get out and walk for an hour each day ~ get my moving a least a little.  It would also be nice to see something other than the walls of the house and it might motivate me to finally put on some regular clothes instead of spending all day in my PJs.

I am still having a really hard time seeing that scar on my neck and I wonder every day if it will heal.  Here is my scar just before last Friday…I don’t know, maybe I am looking at it too closely, but it doesn’t look amazingly better to me.  The little gadget I am holding in my left hand is the bone stimulator (no inappropriate jokes please) which are the two pads attached to my neck.  They are meant to help with the fusion and increase the overall chance of success.  Let’s hope everyone is right.

Leave a Reply

twosaucysisters

There's no such thing as unhealthy food, just food made unhealthy!

THE {TINY} TIMES

I'm a child. And a blogger.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

Listful Thinking

Listless: Lacking zest or vivacity

theheartyherbivore.wordpress.com/

A Vegetarian Foodie's Guide to Life

onthecocoatrail.wordpress.com/

"And then the day came when the risk to remain tight in a bud was greater than the risk it took to bloom". Anais Nin

Pumps & Iron

A healthy lifestyle blog.

Nonsense to Mom's Sense (of Humor)

How life as a stand-up comic prepared me for motherhood

The Musings of a Jewish Stay-At-Home Father

Documenting the Wacky Antics of the Ridiculous Fruits of my Loins

Studio Mothers: Life & Art

Helping mothers meet their creative goals

Hey from Japan- or wherever the moving van arrives- Emily Cannell

Moving a Family When Everyone is Held Tightly in the Grips of Puberty or Menopause

Broadside

Smart and surprising

amaryllis log

create something

Hilary Makes

A doorway into my world. Sometimes an adventure.

Fit & Fueled for Life

Group Fitness, Personal Training & Nutrition with Amy Guzman

