Back to Square One

7 Sep

Yeseterday was filled with frustrations and humbling moments as I realized that when I am finally released to get back to any type of workout, that return is going to be incredibly painful.  I have been trying to walk a few miles each day, if for nothing else, to have something else to look at and to enjoy the fresh air before I go completely nuts from being inside all day.

I dropped something in the bathroom and am not supposed to lean forward at all (you have no idea how many times I have leaned just from habit…they probably should’ve extended my hard collar to a body collar to avoid this mistake), so I squatted down to pick the item up and hit the doorknob with my shoulder really hard.  I screamed, not a pain scream, but that kind of frustrating scream that sounds like, “What the hell!  I am so OVER this stupid collar, and being locked up, and not being able to do anything!” – you know, that kind of scream.  That was my cue to get out of the house immediately.

I had no place to go and no one to see, but I needed to get out.  It was such a beautiful day and I was feeling “adventurous” (intrepretation = going to walk a path I normally run to see if I can get up over this massive hill).  I start marching up our street towards this massive hill that I normally run with great ease (not fast, but with ease).  This was my test – can I at least walk this hill now that I haven’t done any form of exercise in 3 weeks (yep, 3 weeks).

Humbled, but not defeated, I made it up and over the hill (TWICE since I took the same route back).  I had to stop about every 5 steps for a break. WOW – this is what I have been reduced to, walk, pause, walk, pause.  This is hard.  I can’t believe how quickly my fitness level has declined.

Back to square one! Yep, so it seems, that is where I will start.  All of a sudden, I will have to start slow, with modifications and progress slowly.  This is not a place where I am comfortable.  While I don’t have a problem giving this advice to others,  I am not used to take anything slowly.  The teacher will now be the student.  I realize that it is about time to think about daily meditation and doses of daily affirmations and small goal setting.  It will be a long road before I am going at 110%, but perhaps this was the test I was meant to be given.  For so long I have been striving to achieve a better balance in my life, maybe this is that time.  Now is the time to make those life changes so when I come out of my recovery on the backside, life is more balanced.

I often move so quickly focusing on what needs to get done (I am a doer and giver) instead of simply “being in the moment”

Last night, I had the rare opportunity to be alone with my son.  We spent 45 minutes taking turns reading a book together.  At the end my son said, “Thank you mommy for reading with me.  Can we do that again tomorrow?”

Everything in life happens for a reason…I have been waitiing for the storm that is my recovery, when all I need to do is learn to dance in the rain.

 

One Response to “Back to Square One”

  1. Jack September 8, 2012 at 10:38 am #

    Hey Amy! Thank you for sharing parts of this difficult experience. We can all learn things from each other, if we are lucky.
    Peace.

Leave a Reply

twosaucysisters

There's no such thing as unhealthy food, just food made unhealthy!

THE {TINY} TIMES

I'm a child. And a blogger.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

Listful Thinking

Listless: Lacking zest or vivacity

theheartyherbivore.wordpress.com/

A Vegetarian Foodie's Guide to Life

onthecocoatrail.wordpress.com/

"And then the day came when the risk to remain tight in a bud was greater than the risk it took to bloom". Anais Nin

Pumps & Iron

A healthy lifestyle blog.

Nonsense to Mom's Sense (of Humor)

How life as a stand-up comic prepared me for motherhood

The Musings of a Jewish Stay-At-Home Father

Documenting the Wacky Antics of the Ridiculous Fruits of my Loins

Studio Mothers: Life & Art

Helping mothers meet their creative goals

Hey from Japan- or wherever the moving van arrives- Emily Cannell

Moving a Family When Everyone is Held Tightly in the Grips of Puberty or Menopause

Broadside

Smart and surprising

amaryllis log

create something

Hilary Makes

A doorway into my world. Sometimes an adventure.

Fit & Fueled for Life

Group Fitness, Personal Training & Nutrition with Amy Guzman

